DORA awarded July 2013 SPARC Innovators Award

Monday, July 22, 2013

Each year, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) honors an innovator or innovators offering original methods that rethink the scholarly communication system for the benefit of all.  

Four scholars who initiated The Declaration of Research Assessment (DORA) have been honored as the July 2013 SPARC Innovators.  The focus of DORA is delineating the limitations of the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) to reliably demonstrate the impact of individual articles published by scholars. Used as a proxy for overall impact, more and more scholars are recognizing the damage that the use of JIF by P&T committees, funding agencies and others create when relying on JIF as a measure for the worth of a specific article or impact of a scholar's work.  DORA invites scholars to sign the declaration that offers several important recommendations rethinking the process of demonstrating 'impact' in scholarship.

Read more about the award and this year's winners:  "July 2013 Innovator:  The Creators of DORA:  The Declaration on Research Assessment"

  • Ada Emmett
    Director, Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright, KU Libraries
  • Josh Bolick
    Scholarly Communication Librarian
    Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright, KU Libraries
  • Marianne Reed
    Digital Initiatives Manager
    Digital Initiatives, KU Libraries
KU Today